Water Voices

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

English | Français | Español

An invitation to walk through the streets of Bizanet, to follow the water and its mysteries, equipped with an aquatic listening device. The voices of the water create an invisible cartography based on the flows of the water and the childhood imagination, inviting us to explore the village from a different perspective.
This sonic journey is the result of a two months residency in the village, punctuated by work sessions at the primary school and multiple meetings with the inhabitants. Together, we wrote a tale interpreted by the children, which invites us to listen and walk around. The sounds are broadcasted underwater through aquatic speakers, which can be listened to through an aquatic microphone (hydrophone) made with children.

Do here the soundwalk online (text in French) 

The creation was made with the children of the CE2-CM1 class of the elementary school: Anaïs, Emma, ​​Élisa R., Elisa V., Gaspard, Guilhem, Hugo, Janel, Jilia, Julia, Julian, Laïla , Lana, Loan, Louis, Lucien, Manon C., Manon N., Mélissa, Merlin, Nelly, Noah, Odilon, Romane, Sarah, Tom and Victor,
and their teachers Brigitte Lelièvre and Sandra Cathala.

With the participation of Marylène Arsac, Yves Garcia, Marie Lambert, Jeanine Bertin, Jean Muratet, Daniel Ulldemolins, the Heritage Museum, the Media library and the technical services of the town hall.
Online map by Sara Lana
A production by the Narbonnaise en Méditerranée Regional Nature Park in collaboration with the town hall of Bizanet and with the support of the DRAC Occitanie.
Public presentation on 12th and 13th of June 2021.

Many thanks to all those I was able to meet in the streets of Bizanet, as well as to Sara Lana, Marie-Christine Cabanas, Andres Blume, Noémie Diaz, Émile, Thomas Tilly, Michel Redolfi, Isabelle Vincent, Cedric Bru, Alice Roy and Brigitte Denhin.


Large Washhouse
At the end of the route, a sound installation uses the flow of water to activate 12 pendulums. Their sound evokes the work of washerwomen who once washed their laundry in the large washhouse. At the end of each iron tube, an old clothes beater is used to hit a copper basin. The beaters were lent by the villagers of Bizanet.

Les voix de l’eau | Water voices

English | Français | EspañolEnglish | Français | Español

Une invitation à se balader dans les rues de Bizanet, à suivre l’eau et ses mystères, munis d’un dispositif d’écoute aquatique. Les voix de l’eau créent une cartographie invisible basée sur les flux de l’eau et les imaginaires de l’enfance, nous invitant à explorer Bizanet sous une autre oreille.

Ce parcours sonore est le résultat de deux mois de résidence dans le village, ponctué par des sessions de travail à l’école primaire et de multiples rencontres avec les habitants. Ensemble, nous avons écrit un conte interprété par les enfants, qui nous invite à la promenade. Les sons sont diffusés sous l’eau au travers d’enceintes aquatiques, que l’on peut écouter via un hydrophone fabriqué avec les enfants.

Effectuez ici la balade sonore en ligne

La création a été réalisée avec les enfants de la classe de CE2-CM1 de l’école élémentaire du village : Anaïs, Emma, Élisa R., Elisa V., Gaspard, Guilhem, Hugo, Janel, Jilia, Julia, Julian, Laïla, Lana, Loan, Louis, Lucien, Manon C., Manon N., Mélissa, Merlin, Nelly, Noah, Odilon, Romane, Sarah, Tom et Victor,
et leurs enseignantes Brigitte Lelièvre et Sandra Cathala.

Avec la participation de Marylène Arsac, Yves Garcia, Marie Lambert, Jeanine Bertin, Jean Muratet, Daniel Ulldemolins, le Musée du Patrimoine, la Médiathèque et les services techniques de la mairie.
Cartographie en ligne de Sara Lana.
Une production du Parc naturel régional de la Narbonnaise en Méditerranée en collaboration avec la mairie de Bizanet et avec le soutien de la DRAC Occitanie.
Restitution les 12 et 13 Juin 2021.

Remerciements à tous ceux que j’ai pu rencontrer dans les rues de Bizanet, ainsi qu’à Sara Lana, Marie-Christine Cabanas, Andres Blume, Noémie Diaz, Émile, Thomas Tilly, Michel Redolfi, Isabelle Vincent, Cedric Bru, Alice Roy et Brigitte Denhin.

En fin de parcours, une installation sonore au grand lavoir clôture la balade.

En fin de parcours, une installation sonore utilise le flux de l’eau pour actionner 12 balanciers qui évoquent le travail des lavandières qui lavaient jadis leur linge au grand lavoir. Au bout de chaque tube en fer, un ancien battoir à linge est utilisé pour percuté une bassine de cuivre. Les battoirs ont été prêtés par les villageois(e) du village de Bizanet.