Essaim

L’installation sonore Essaim est composée de 250 petits haut-parleurs reproduisant chacun le son d’une abeille en plein vol. Suspendus dans l’espace d’exposition, ces dispositifs sonores nous proposent plusieurs expériences d’écoute de l’ensemble à l’individu. Le visiteur est invité à s’approcher pour écouter ces petits êtres au plus près et faire ainsi partie intégrante de l’essaim, en immersion sonore au sein des abeilles. On peut alors écouter ces voix comme autant de témoignages individuels de ces ouvrières qui ont tendance à passer inaperçues. On entend leur chant, leur cri ou leur bavardage à la manière d’une chorale aérienne.

Les abeilles ont été enregistrées via un studio d’enregistrement spécialement conçu pour elles, qui a permis d’enregistrer leur vol lorsqu’elles butinent à l’intérieur.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Expositions : Jeanne Barret (Marseille, Fr, 2021), Domaine de Kerguéhennec (Vannes, Fr, 2021), Festival Maintenant! (Rennes, Fr, 2021), Wilde Westen (Kortrijk, Be, 2021), Musée des Tapisseries (Aix-en-Provence, Fr, 2022), Hear Here (Leuven, Be, 2022), Musée Réattu (Arles, Fr, 2022), Campo Base Festival (Val d’Ossola, It, 2022), Sonic Acts (Amsterdam, Nl, 2022)

Presse : Point Contemporain (Fr), Anonymal TV (Fr), Radio Canal B Rennes (Fr), Meeting with Félix Blume during Maintenant festival at Rennes (Fr), Swarm presented in Kortrijk during the exhibition Sound Art in Public Spaces (Be), We Make Money Not Art (En), 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Processus d’enregistrement des abeilles et construction du studio d’enregistrement

Production D.D.A Contemporary Art (Constance Juliette Meffre)
Co-production M2F Créations / Lab Gamerz & Domaine de Kerguéhennec
Participation du DICRéAM (CNC)
Collaboration avec l’apiculteur Dominique Hardouin et 250 de ses abeilles
Design et conception du studio d’enregistrement et des dispositifs sonores : Grégoire Lauvin
Assistant : Arthur Thomas
Assistant pour l’installation à Rennes et au Domaine de Kerguéhennec Louis-Marie Ropars
Assistants Post-Production : César González, Alejandro Díaz
Merci beaucoup à Luce Moreau, Paul Destieu, Sara Lana, Andres Blume, Marie-Christine Cabanas, Lucas Compagnoni, Louis-Marie Ropars, Eric Mezan
Photos : Yoav Yaron, Constance Juliette Meffre, Luce Moreau, Arthur Thomas, Louis-Marie Ropars and Félix Blume

Les enregistrements de chaque abeille, utilisés pour l’installation, sont disponibles ici sur Freesound.

Essaim | Swarm

English  |  FrançaisEspañol

Swarm sound installation is composed by 250 small speakers, each one reproducing the sound of a flying bee. Suspended in the exhibition space, those sonic devices offer us several listening experiences ranging from the group to the individual. The visitor is invited to approach those small beings and become part of the swarm, in an immersive sonic experience with the bees. It’s then possible to listen to those voices as many individual testimonies by these workers that tend to get unnoticed. We listen to their singing, their screaming or their chatting, in the way of an aerial choir. 

The bees have been recorded with a sound recording studio specifically designed for them. We’ve been able to record their flight while they were foraging inside.

Exhibitions : Jeanne Barret (Marseille, Fr, 2021), Domaine de Kerguéhennec (Vannes, Fr, 2021), Festival Maintenant! (Rennes, Fr, 2021), Wilde Westen (Kortrijk, Be, 2021), Musée des Tapisseries (Aix-en-Provence, Fr, 2022), Hear Here (Leuven, Be, 2022), Musée Réattu (Arles, Fr, 2022), Campo Base Festival (Val d’Ossola, It, 2022), Sonic Acts (Amsterdam, Nl, 2022)

Press : Point Contemporain (Fr), Anonymal TV (Fr), Radio Canal B Rennes (Fr), Meeting with Félix Blume during Maintenant festival at Rennes (Fr), Swarm presented in Kortrijk during the exhibition Sound Art in Public Spaces (Be), We Make Money Not Art (En),

Recording process and design of the recording studio

Production D.D.A Contemporary Art (Constance Juliette Meffre)
Co-production M2F Créations / Lab Gamerz & Domaine de Kerguéhennec
Participation of DICRéAM (CNC)
Collaboration with beekeeper Dominique Hardouin and 250 bees
Design and conception of the recording studio and the sonic devices : Grégoire Lauvin
Assistant: Arthur Thomas
Assistant for the installation in Rennes and Domaine de Kerguéhennec: Louis-Marie Ropars
Post-Production Assistants: César González, Alejandro Díaz
Many thanks to Luce Moreau, Paul Destieu, Sara Lana, Cleo Verstrepen, Andres Blume, Marie-Christine Cabanas, Guillaume Stagnaro, Thomas Hardouin, Lucas Compagnoni, Louis-Marie Ropars, Eric Mezan and Yoav Yaron.
Pictures: Yoav Yaron, Constance Juliette Meffre, Luce Moreau, Arthur Thomas, Louis-Marie Ropars and Félix Blume.

The recordings of each bee, used for the installation, are available on Freesound here.